Page of Honor

The Miss Wisconsin Organization would like to recognize the following titleholders for their success and our state and local volunteers for their time, talent and dedication towards our program.

National Titleholders

Miss America's Outstanding Teen 2010 and Terry Meeuwsen Miss America 2012Laura Kaeppeler Fleiss

Miss Wisconsin 2011, Laura Kaeppeler was crowned Miss America 2012.

Originally from Kenosha, Wisconsin, Laura Kaeppeler became the 86th woman to be named Miss America and the second from the state of Wisconsin.

As Miss America, Laura traveled 20,000 miles per month as the face of The Miss America Organization, the world’s largest provider of scholarship assistance to young women. In addition, Laura has appeared on numerous television programs, made corporate appearances and also spoke on behalf of The Miss America Organization’s national platform, Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals and her personal platform, Advocating for Children of Incarcerated Parents. In addition, Laura supports the military and The USO and recently was named by US News and World Report, one of The Top 100 Women leaders in STEM.

Laura has worked with numerous organizations that advocate for Children of Incarcerated Parents that include: The US Dream Academy, Project Avery, Operation Open Arms, The Seedling Foundation, Prison Fellowship Ministries, Kon-necting Services, The American Correctional Association, Camp Bob and Big Brothers Big Sisters. Laura has received The Courage Award from The Care Plus Foundation as well as The Thomas Mott Osborne Medal from The Osbourne Association.

An accomplished vocalist and talent award winner at Miss America, Laura has performed The National Anthem at numerous professional sporting events, including Yankee Stadium, Wrigley Field and Lambeau Field, among others across the country. Although not her primary instrument, Laura also enjoys playing the piano.

Laura graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Music and an emphasis in Vocal Performance at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin. She continues to travel as a performer and spokesperson for mentoring programs that advocate for at-risk youth. Laura plans to use her $50,000 scholarship from The Miss America Organization to attend law school with hopes to pursue a career in child advocacy.

Jeanette Morelan Miss America's Outstanding Teen 2010 and Terry Meeuwsen Miss America 1973Terry Meeuwsen

Our very own Miss Wisconsin 1972 Terry Meeuwsen became Miss America 1973. She can now be seen nightly on the 700 Club on Freeform.

Jeanette Morelan

  • Jeanette Morelan won the title of Miss America’s Outstanding Teen 2010.

Forever Miss Wisconsins

Stephanie Klett

Stephanie Klett is the Secretary of Tourism for the State of Wisconsin. Stephanie was Miss Wisconsin 1992, and a Bert Parks Talent winner at the 1993 Miss America Finals in Atlantic City – the first cornet player in its history. During her year as Miss Wisconsin, she created a program called ATTITUDE ON AIDS. Educating teens on the facts of HIV and AIDS, the program’s success led to an appearance on ABC’s Good Morning America, a trip to Cuba, a Commendation from then-Governor Tommy Thompson, and a keynote address at the Hollywood Hope AIDS service. She also created the annual Spotlight on Wisconsin benefit, which raises money for the AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin, Beloit Regional Hospice, and the Stateline Area Boys & Girls Clubs. Click here to learn more.


Diane Czeszak and Jean Freimuth


Diane Czeszak has served as contestant coordinator for the Miss St. Francis Scholarship Pageant since 1978 and has been involved in the preparation for local and state pageants.  She serves as chaperone and mentor to Miss St. Francis throughout her year of service.  Diane is employed as Director of Research for the Benefit Services Group, Inc.  She has served as a National Baton Twirling Judge and as the non-faculty advisor for the St. Francis High School Marinette Pom Pom Squad.

Jean Freimuth has served as Program Director for the Miss St Francis Scholarship Pageant since  1978  and is actively involved in St. Francis Days & is a founding member of the St. Francis Arts Council.  Jean is an active volunteer, spending countless hours working for various St. Francis Community events.  She is a retired MPS teacher.

Richard Lewis

Richard Lewis was given an award recognizing his 50 years of service to the Miss America and Miss Wisconsin Organizations.

Mary Lou Lewis

Mary Lou Lewis was given an award recognizing her 50 years of service to the Miss America and Miss Wisconsin Organizations.

Lou Cristiano

Lou Cristiano for 38 years of service. Lou was the president and General Chairman of the Miss Kenosha Scholarship Pageant. He composed and directed all the productions, and managed the reign of each Miss Kenosha. Mr. Cristiano also wrote and directed a Miss Lake Geneva Pageant, seven Miss Racine Pageants, one Miss Milwaukee Pageant, one Miss Wisconsin Pageant, and an Alice in Dairyland Pageant. He is now at peace and will be missed by many.

Gordy Lund

We honor Gordy Lund for 40 years of service

Gert Schultz

We honor Gert Schultz for 40 years of service

Edie Fromm

We honor Edie Fromm for 40 years of service